

SC directs Centre to declare 10 km area around national parks as eco-sensitive

Posted at: 12/12/2018

SC directs Centre to declare 10 km area around national parks as eco-sensitive

- The Supreme Court directed the Union Environment Ministry to declare 10 km area around 21 national parks and wildlife sanctuaries across the country as 'eco-sensitive zones'.
- A Bench led by Justice Madan B. Lokur took the initiative after its amicus curiae informed the court that the State governments have taken no effort to protect the area around these sanctuaries and parks.
- The parks and sanctuaries are the
 - 1. Pobitora sanctuary in Assam;
 - 2. Hemis and Kishtewar national parks,
 - 3. Changthang, Hokersar, Trikuta sanctuaries in Jammu and Kashmir; Jogimatti, Thimlapura and
 - 4. Yadahalli Chinkara sanctuaries in Karnataka;
 - 5. Deolgaon Rehekuri and Thane Creek Flamingo sanctuaries and the Malvan marine sanctuary in Maharashtra;
 - 6. Siroi National Park and Khongjaingamba Ching sanctuary in Manipur;
 - 7. Baghmara Pitcher Plant sanctuary in Meghalaya;
 - 8. Fakim and Puliebadze and Rangapahar sanctuaries in Nagaland;
 - 9. Dr. Bhimrao Ambedkar bird sanctuary and Pilibhit sanctuary in Uttar Pradesh and
 - 10. The Jorepokhri sanctuary in West Bengal.

The Hindu